The rules concerning Golden Visa are due to change

The rules concerning Golden Visa are due to change


The rules concerning Golden Visa are due to change

The rules concerning the investment residency visa (ARI), also known as Golden Visa, are due to change. Decree-Law number 14/2021, of the 12th of February introduced some significant changes on the amount and scope of investments eligible for «golden visa», coming into force the 1st of January 2022.

Most notably, real estate investment in the more cosmopolitan regions of Portugal, amongst which Lisbon, Oporto and Algarve, with some exceptions, will no longer be eligible for the visa; only investments made in less developed regions will entitle to claim the visa. A government regulation of 2017 (Portaria n. 208/2017, of the 13th of July) stipulates which designed regions are eligible.

Please note that real estate investment other than in housing estates (office, commercial, industrial plots) are still eligible regardless of the region concerned.

The required amount of investment stays at 500.000 €.

Other investments eligible suffer an increase:

  1. Capital transfers and deposits, eligible on their own, will need to be of 1.5 million euros, at least;
  2. Transfer of capital to invest in Research and Development will increase from 350.000 thousand to 500.000 €;
  3. The acquisition of units of participation in investment funds under the conditions stipulated by law, now implies an investment of, at least 500.000 €, instead of the prior 350.000 €;
  4. Finally, the transfer of capital for investment in or setting-up of an incorporated company with the creation of at least 5 permanent jobs, is increased from 350.000 € to 500.000 €.

Otherwise, the eligible period on which the relevant investment must be kept will stay at five years.

It is worthy to note that for those already in the program, rules will stay the same and no increase will be needed for renewal.

Please note, your browser is out of date.
For a good browsing experience we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Opera or Internet Explorer.